About the Fusion Faculty

The three key faculty members of FUSION bring together a rich and diverse set of professional and academic experiences in the fields of law, business and innovation. Funded by an Interdisciplinary Alliance Investment Grant (IAIG) from the Provost, FUSION works across multiple schools and departments at Case Western Reserve University, connecting scientific, business and legal excellence to create a robust teaching environment for students.

Fusion Faculty


Craig Nard


Craig Nard
Galen J. Roush Professor of Business Law & Regulation and Director,

Center for Law, Technology & the Arts

at Case Western Reserve University School of Law.

Joseph Jankowski, MBA, PhD
Chief Innovation Officer, Case Western Reserve University
Director, Neuros Medical; Trustee, BioEnterprise , Member - Veterans Affairs Advanced Platform Technology Executive Steering Committee; Director, BioInvision (Clinical Translational Science Awards Key Function Committee, Public Private Partnerships sub-committee ).

Ted Theofrastous
Distinguished Practioner in Residence, CWRU.
Managing Director, Fusion
Manging Attorney – IP Venture Clinic.
Founder - ThetaSquared LLC.

Adjunct Faculty:

Dr. Atossa Alavi
General Counsel, Alphamicron. Inc.

Teresan Gilbert
Chief Intellectual Property Counsel at
the Lubrizol Corporation

Jon Wood
Chief Intellectual Property Counsel at
Bridgestone Americas


08. 01. 14
2014-15 Scientific Focus:
Networked Neuro Prosthetic Devices



The FUSION faculty is pleased to announce the 2014-15 Scientific focus for our courses in Intellectual Property Management and Opportunity Assessment Technology Commercialization, We are honored to be joined by CWRU biomedical engineer and emeritus professor P. Hunter Peckham to provide a specialized focus on Neuromodulation innovation across a broad range of potential applications..

Read More>>

Fusion Program Fellows

Each year we have the honor of selecting key contributors to the Fusion program as Fellows. These individuals represent not only the height of talent and professionalism in their field, but also have demonstrated a passion for Fusion's academic mission.

Megan Moynahan

2014-15 Fellow
Executive Director Institute
for Functional Restoration


Erich Spangenberg

Erich Spangenberg

2013-14 Fellow
Chairman, IPNav

Rich Wesorick

Richard Wesork

2012-13 Fellow
Partner, Tarolli, Sunheim, Covell & Tumino LLP